Bibliography

Works Cited

 

Achebe, Chinua. “Flying.” Collected Poems by Chinua Achebe. Anchor Books, 2004. Poetry Foundation, 2020. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/146986/flying.

“Aimé Césaire—Poet.” Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poet/aime-cesaire.

“Aimé Césaire, Founding Father of Negritude.” The Independent. 19 Apr. 2008.

Akhmatova, Anna. The Complete Poems of Anna Akhmatova. Trans. J. Herschemeyer. Ed. R. Reeder. Boston: Zephyr Press, 2000.

Akhmatova, Anna. “Lot’s Wife.” Translated by Tanya Karshtedt, 2000. Poetry Lover’s Page, 1995-2020, https://www.poetryloverspage.com/poets/akhmatova/lots_wife.html.

Akhmatova, Anna. “Requiem.” Translated by Yevgeny Bonver. 2005. Poetry Lover’s Page, 1995-2020, https://www.poetryloverspage.com/poets/akhmatova/requiem.html.

Akhmatova, Anna. “Why Is This Century Worse….” Translated by Yevgeny Bonver. Poetry Lover’s Page, 1995-2020, https://www.poetryloverspage.com/poets/akhmatova/requiem.html.

Alarcón, Francisco X. “’Mexican’ Is Not a Noun.” From the Other Side of Night. University of Arizona Press, 2002. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/53882/mexican-is-not-a-noun.

Alarcón, Francisco X. “Prayer.” Translated by Francisco Aragón. From the Other Side of Night. University of Arizona Press, 2002. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/53880/prayer-56d2339a65102.

Alarcón, Francisco X. “To Those Who Have Lost Everything.” From the Other Side of Night. University of Arizona Press, 2002. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/53881/to-those-who-have-lost-everything.

Amichai, Yehuda. “Three Jerusalem Poems.” Poems of Jerusalem by Yehuda Amichai. Tel Aviv: Shocken Publishing, 1987. Palestine-Israel Journal, 2020, https://pij.org/articles/1009.

Amichai, Yehuda. “Three Poems by Yehuda Amichai.” Translated by Chana Bloch. The Poetry Place, https://thepoetryplace.wordpress.com/2009/12/18/three-poems-by-yehuda-amichai/.

“Anna Akhmatova.” Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/anna-akhmatova.

Arasanayagam, Jean. “Apocalypse.” Jean Arasanayagam, https://sites.google.com/site/jeanarasanayagam/home/jean-arasanayagam-s-poem-apocalypse.

Ashcroft, Bill, et al. Post-Colonial Studies: The Key Concepts. Routledge, 1998.

Avilés, Quique. “I Will Take My Voice Back.” MPR Morning Edition, 31 July 2006. This I Believe, 2020, https://thisibelieve.org/essay/22871/.

Avilés, Quique. “My tongue is divided into two.” Immigrant Museum. Raices de Papel, 2004. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/53006/-my-tongue-is-divided-into-two.

Bamia, Aida. “Mahmoud Darwish—Palestinian Poet.” Encyclopaedia Britannica 9 Mar. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Mahmoud-Darwish.

Baym, Nina. The Norton Anthology of American Literature. W.W. Norton, 2007.

“Ben Okri.” Poetry Foundation, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/ben-okri.

Brecht, Bertolt. Mother Courage and Her Children (1939). Socialist Stories, http://www.socialiststories.com/writers/bertolt-brecht/.

Borges, Jorge Luis. “A Wolf.” Poetry, October 1992. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/browse?contentId=38442.

Butler, Christopher. Postmodernism: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford UP, 2003.

Carbó, Nick. “Little Brown Brother.” El Grupo McDonalds’s. Tia Chuca, 1995. Poetry Foundation. 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/57845/little-brown-brother.

Carruthers, Mark. “Seamus Heaney: ‘If I described myself as an Ulsterman I’d have thought I was selling a bit of my birthright.'” The Irish Times, 23 Jan. 2015. www.irishtimes.com.

Césaire, Aimé. Excerpt from Notebook of a Return to the Native Land. Translated by Clayton Eshleman and Annette Smith. Wesleyan University Press, 2001. Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poem/notebook-return-native-land-excerpt.

Césaire, Aimé. “The Woman and the Flame.” Solar Throat Slashed: The Unexpurgated 1948 edition. Wesleyan University Press, 2011. Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poem/woman-and-flame.

“Chinua Achebe.” Encyclopædia Britannica, 5 Feb. 2015, http://academic.eb.com.libproxy.ung.edu/levels/collegiate/article/Chinua-Achebe/3521.

Darwish, Mahmoud. “Identity Card.” 1964. Poets from Palestine, 2020, http://www.barghouti.com/poets/darwish/bitaqa.asp.

Darwish, Mahmoud. “Victim Number 18.” 6 Jan. 2010. Poets from Palestine,  http://poetsfrompalestine.blogspot.com/2010/01/victim-number-18.html.

Denton, Kirk. Lu Xun Biography, MCLC Resource Center, 2002.

“Derek Walcott.” Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/derek-walcott.

El Shabrawy, Charlotte. “Naguib Mahfouz, the Art of Fiction No. 129.” The Paris Review 123, Summer 1992, www.theparisreview.org.

“Francisco X. Alarcón.”  Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poet/francisco-x-alarcon.

“Francisco De Alarcon.” Colorín Colorado. WETA Public Broadcasting 2019, https://www.colorincolorado.org/author/francisco-x-alarc%C3%B3n.

“Francisco X. Alarcon.” Poetry Foundation. 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/francisco-x-alarcon.

“Gabriel Garcia Marquez—Biographical.” The Nobel Prize, 2020, https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/literature/1982/marquez/lecture/ .

Hardie, Melissa. “Anna Violet Thurstan (1879-1978) aka ‘Violetta.'” Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.

Harjo, Joy. “An American Sunrise.” Poetry, Feb. 2017. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/poems/92063/an-american-sunrise.

Harjo, Joy. “Eagle Poem.” In Mad Love and War. Wesleyan University Press, 1990. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46545/eagle-poem.

Harjo, Joy. “My House is the Red Earth.” Secrets from the Center of the World.  University of Arizona Press, 1989. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/51640/my-house-is-the-red-earth.

Harjo, Joy. “A Poem to Get Rid of Fear.” YouTube, uploaded by urbanrenewelprogram. 30 Aug. 2010. Joy Harjo, 2020, https://www.joyharjo.com/videos/a-poem-to-get-rid-of-fear/.

Harjo, Joy. “When the World as We Knew it Ended.” How We Became Human: New and Selected Poems: 1975-2001. Norton, 2002. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/49619/when-the-world-as-we-knew-it-ended.

“Haruki Murakami: Japanese Author.” Encyclopædia Britannica 8 Jan. 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Haruki-Murakami.

Heaney, Seamus. “The Haw Lantern.” The Nobel Prize. 2020, https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/literature/1995/press-release/.

Heaney, Seamus. “The Tollund Man.” University of North Carolina Press, 2006, Internet Poetry Archive, https://www.ibiblio.org/ipa/poems/heaney/the_tollund_man.php.

Hippolyte, Kendel. “Creation.” TriQuarterly Books/Northwestern University Press, 2005. Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poem/creation-0.

Hirsch, Edward. “Derek Walcott, the Art of Poetry No. 37.” The Paris Review 101, Winter 1986, www.theparisreview.org.

Hughes, Langston. “I, too.” The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes. 1994. Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poem/i-too.

Hughes, Langston. “Harlem.” The Collected Works of Langston Hughes. 2002. Poetry Foundation 1990, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/46548/harlem.

Hughes, Langston. “Theme for English B.” The Collected Works of Langston Hughes. 2002. Poetry Foundation, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/47880/theme-for-english-b.

Hughes, Langston. “The Weary Blues.” The Collected Works of Langston Hughes. 2002. Poetry Foundation, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/47347/the-weary-blues.

“Hwang Sok-young.” Korean Literature Now. Literature Translation of Korea, https://koreanliteraturenow.com/author/profile/hwang-sok-yong.

“Jamaica Kincaid—Caribbean American Author.” Encyclopædia Britannica 30 May 2019, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Jamaica-Kincaid.

“Jean Arasanayagam.” Goodreads, 2020. https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/553277.Jean_Arasanayagam.

“Jorge Luis Borges:1899-1986.” Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/jorge-luis-borges.

“Joy Harjo.” Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/joy-harjo.

“Katherine Mansfield.” The British Library, https://www.bl.uk/people/katherine-mansfield.

“Katherine Mansfield, British Author.” Encyclopaedia Britannica, 2020, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Katherine-Mansfield.

“Kendel Hippolyte.” Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poet/kendel-hippolyte.

Kincaid, Jamaica. “Putting Myself Together.” The New Yorker, 20 Feb. 1995. www.newyorker.com.

“Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha.” Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poet/leah-lakshmi-piepzna-samarasinha.

Lee, Li-Young. “The Gift.” Rose, BOA Editions, 1986. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/43010/the-gift-56d221adc12b8.

“Li-Young Lee.” Poetry Foundation. 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/li-young-lee.

“Lu Xun.” Britannica Academic, Encyclopædia Britannica, 13 Aug. 2017, http://academic.eb.com.libproxy.ung.edu/levels/collegiate/article/Lu-Xun/49191.

“Mahmoud Darwish.” Poetry Foundation. 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/mahmoud-darwish.

Marquez, Gabriel Garcia. “Eyes of a Blue Dog.” Classic Short Stories. 2020, https://www.classicshorts.com/stories/bluedog.html.

Marquez, Gabriel Garcia. “A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings.” Translated by Gregory Rabassa. North Dakota State University Creative Writing 323, https://www.ndsu.edu/pubweb/~cinichol/CreativeWriting/323/MarquezManwithWings.htm.

Murakami, Haruki. Men without Women: Stories. Amazon. 2020, https://www.amazon.com/Men-Without-Women-Haruki-Murakami/dp/0451494628/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1509136154&sr=8-1&keywords=haruki+murakami.

Murakami, Haruki. “The Second Bakery Attack.” http://web.mit.edu/norvin/www/somethingelse/murakami.html.

Michelson, Richard. “Elijah vs. Santa.” More Money than God, University of Pittsburgh Press, 2015. Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poem/elijah-vs-santa.

“Modernism.” The Literature Network, www.online-literature.com.

“Naguib Mahfouz—Egyptian Writer.” Encyclopædia Britannica, 20 Dec. 2019, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Naguib-Mahfouz.

Nazarus. Neil. The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Literary Studies. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2004.

“Nick Carbó.” Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/nick-carbo-57ac93a4c8948.

Okri, Ben. “I sing a new freedom.” Ebury Publishing Blog, 3 Apr. 2009, https://web.archive.org/web/20130112232352/http://www.rhgdigital.co.uk/blogs/ebury/?p=196.

Piepzna-Samarasinha, Leah Lakshmi. “Brown Love.” Poem-a-Day, 16 Jan. 2020. Academy of American Poets, https://poets.org/poem/brown-love.

“Professional Biography.” Richard Michelson: Poet and Children’s Book Author. 2020, https://www.richardmichelson.com/biography/.

“Resources.” Haruki Murakami, http://www.harukimurakami.com/resources.

Rushdie, Salman. “The Perforated Sheet.” Midnight’s Children. Knopf: New York, 1981. franke.uchicago.edu/Rushdie1.pdf.

Said, Edward. Orientalism. New York: Vintage, 1979.

“Seamus Heaney.” The Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/seamus-heaney.

Silko, Leslie Marmon. “Yellow Woman.” www.pelister.org/courses/topics/silko/yellow-woman.pdf.

Sok-Yong, Hwang. “Camel’s Eye.” Translated by Yu Young-nan. Words without Borders, Nov. 2005, https://www.wordswithoutborders.org/article/camels-eye/.

Stone, Peter H. “Gabriel Garcia Marquez, the Art of Fiction No. 69.” The Paris Review 82, Winter 1981. www.theparisreview.org.

Szymborska, Wisława. “The End and the Beginning.” Translated by Joanna Trzeciak. Miracle Fair: selected poems of Wisława Szymborska, Norton, 2001. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/52955/the-end-and-the-beginning.

Tagore, Rabindranath. “Nationalism in Japan.” 2016. The Complete Works of Rabindranath Tagore, http://tagoreweb.in/Render/ShowContent.aspx?ct=Essays&bi=72EE92F5-BE50-40D7-8E6E-0F7410664DA3&ti=72EE92F5-BE50-4A47-1E6E-0F7410664DA3&ch=2.

“Things Fall Apart.” Encyclopædia Britannica, 31 Oct. 2011, academic.eb.com.libproxy.ung.edu/levels/collegiate/article/Things-Fall-Apart/486865.

“Violetta Thurstan, A Modern-Day Renaissance Woman.” The Hypatia Trust, 2019, http://hypatia-trust.org.uk/blog/2012/12/11/violetta-thurstan-a-modern-day-renaissance-woman.

Walcott, Derek. “The Bounty.” The Bounty, Faber and Faber, 1997. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/48318/the-bounty.

Walcott, Derek. “From Omeros.” Omeros, Farrar Straus and Girouz, 1990. Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/48317/omeros.

“Wisława Szymborska.” Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/wisaawa-szymborska.

 

License

Share This Book